Culture & Market

There are a host of cultural-historical places of interest in the Drâa Valley, the environs of Ouarzazate in the foothills of the High Atlas and the Dades Valley. But you should not overlook the very interesting living culture either. It is this which makes your stay in Morocco such an unforgettable experience.

The differences between the every day culture in Morocco and that in Central Europe are very invigorating.

Cultural Treasures

We recommend the following destinations and can also take you to them:

  • Kasbah Taourirt (Ouarzazate)
  • Kasbah-Komplex der Ait-Benhaddou (UNESCO-World Heritage Site)
  • Dar Glaoui in Telouèt (Berber castle of the notorious tribal chief Glaoui)
  • Ait Ouazik Rock Drawings
  • Ksour von Tamnougalt near Agdz (exceptional fortifications)
  • Shrine of Side Bou Saleh at Tamnougalt ksour
  • Zaouia Timsla (place of pilgrimage with an exceptional mosque)
  • Amezrou village near Zagora (home of the dark-skinned Haratin)
  • Tamegroute village near Zagora (pan-Moroccan place of pilgrimage with a Koranic library)

Markets

A visit to the region’s markets is a long-remembered experience. The market in Agdz is extremely basic and caters primarily for the everyday needs of the local farmers. The town is not geared to cater for tourists. Nonetheless they are made to feel very welcome. A surprising range of everyday products is available and the custom of haggling can be observed at every turn.

  • Monday market in Alnif and Tinghir (Dades Valley)
  • Wednesday market in Tazzarine und El Keela M’Gouna (Dades Valley)
  • Thursday market in Agdz and Telouèt (High Atlas)
  • Sunday market in N’kob, Zagora, Ouarzazate and Erfoud (Tafilalt)

Crafts

There has been a well-documented decline in crafts in Europe for several decades. Certain techniques have become rare or have even been completely lost. A great deal has fallen victim to automation – but this is not the case in Morocco. In every large village, and therefore in Agdz as well, there are several interesting craft workshops to visit. Anyone adventurous enough to enter into conversation with locals is sure to see everything of interest. The people feel honoured if you take an interest in their work. The following craft workshops can be seen in Agdz:

  • Carving
  • Upholstery
  • Basket Weaving
  • Pottery
  • Tailoring

Kultur & Handwerk

Das Drâa-Tal, das Umland von Ouarzazate zu Füssen des hohen Atlas bzw. das Dades-Tal können mit einer grossen Anzahl an kulturhistorischen Sehenswürdigkeiten aufwarten. Daneben darf aber die sehr interessante Alltagskultur nicht übergangen werden. Gerade diese macht Ihren Marokko-Aufenthalt zu einem unvergesslichen Erlebnis.

Die Unterschiede der Alltagkultur zu jener in Mitteleuropa wirkt sehr belebend.

Kulturgüter

Wir empfehlen Ihnen folgende Ziele und können Sie auch dahin bringen:

  • Kasbah Taourirt (Ouarzazate)
  • Kasbah-Komplex der Ait-Benhaddou (UNESCO-Kulturgut)
  • Dar Glaoui in Telouèt (Berberschloss des berüchtigten Stammesfürsten Glaoui)
  • Felsgravouren von Ait Ouazik
  • Ksour von Tamnougalt bei Agdz (aussergewöhnliche Schutzarchitektur)
  • Lehmmarabout (Heiligengrab) des Sidi Bou Saleh beim Ksour von Tamnougalt
  • Zaouia Timsla (Pilgerort mit aussergewöhnlicher Moschee)
  • Dorf Amezrou bei Zagora (Wohnort der dunkelhäutigen Haratin)
  • Dorf Tamegroute bei Zagora (panmarokkanisches Pilgerziel mit Koran-Bibliothek)

Märkte

Es ist ein bleibendes Erlebnis, die Märkte der Region zu besuchen. Gerade jener von Agdz ist sehr urig und primär auf die Alltagsbedürfnisse der Bauern ausgerichtet. Auf Touristen ist man nicht vorbereitet. Trotzdem freut man sich auf deren Besuch. Es werden überraschende Alltagsprodukte zum Kauf dargeboten. Die Kultur des Feilschens ist auf Schritt und Tritt zu beobachten.

  • Montag Markt in Alnif und Tinghir (Dades-Tal)
  • Mittwoch Markt in Tazzarine und El Keela M’Gouna (Dades-Tal)
  • Donnerstag Markt in Agdz und Telouèt (hoher Atlas)
  • Sonntag Markt in N’kob, Zagora, Ouarzazate und Erfoud (Tafelalt)

Handwerk

Das Handwerk ist in Europa bekanntlich seit Jahrzehnten auf dem Rückzug. Gewisse Techniken werden nur noch selten oder gar nicht mehr gepflegt. Vieles ist der Automatisierung zum Opfer gefallen – nicht so in Marokko. In jedem grösseren Dorf und so auch in Agdz lassen sich einige interessante Handwerksbetriebe besichtigen. Wer den freundlichen Kontakt zu den Einheimischen wagt, darf mit Garantie alles Besichtigen was interessiert. Die Menschen fühlen sich geehrt, wenn Sie sich für Ihre Werke interessieren. So sind in Agdz z.B. folgende Handwerksbetriebe vorhanden:

  • Schnitzerei
  • Polsterei
  • Korbflechterei
  • Töpferei
  • Schneiderei