Empire in the Maghreb

Morocco is the bridge between Europe and the Arabic world. In the north the country borders southern Spain at the Straits of Gibraltar. In this region there is a strong Mediterranean and Arabian influence on the culture of the people. The region around Marrakesh and to the south of the High Atlas is dominated by the cultures of the Berbers and the desert nomads.
Morocco has come nowhere near exhausting its potential as a tourist destination. The endless and largely undeveloped Atlantic coast invites visitors to swim and surf. The unspoilt valleys of the Atlas are perfect for trekking and even ski tours. The glittering imperial cities of Fes, Meknes, Rabat and Marrakesh are all well worth a visit.

Marrakesh probably represents the European dream of the Orient like no other place. Particularly worth a visit, however, is the region south of the High Atlas towards the Sahara. There are several river oases and a few exceptionally interesting villages around the regional centre of Ourrzazate.

Some of these have been designated UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

The country in north-west Africa is a constitutional monarchy. Nonetheless, the political powers of the parliament are strictly controlled. The young King Mohammed VI of the Alawite dynasty has ruled the country since 1999. One of the Alawites chief claims to power is their direct descendancy from the Prophet Mohammed. The country offers legal and investment security and Moroccan society is stable. The crime rate is relatively low and negligible in the countryside in particular.

Königreich im Maghreb

Marokko ist die Brücke zwischen Europa und der arabischen Welt. Im Norden grenzt das Land bei der Strasse von Gibraltar an das südliche Spanien. Dort ist die Kultur der Menschen geprägt durch einen starken mediterranen und arabischen Einschlag. In der Region rund um Marrakech und südlich des hohen Atlas herrscht die Kultur der Berber und der Wüstennomaden vor.
Marokko hat sein touristisches Potential noch lange nicht ausgeschöpft. Die endlose und weitgehend unverbaute Atlantikküste lockt zum baden und surfen. Die verborgenen Talschaften des Atlas laden zum Trekking und gar Skitouren ein. Die glanzvollen Königsstädte Fes, Meknes, Rabat und Marrakesch sind je eine Reise wert.

Marrakech steht wohl wie kein anderer Ort für den europäischen Traum vom Orient. Besonders sehenswert ist jedoch die Region südlich des hohen Atlas in Richtung Sahara. Rund um das Regionalzentrum Ouarzazate sind mehrere idyllische Flussoasen und einige äusserst sehenswerte Dörfer zu besichtigen.

Diese sind zum Teil als UNESCO-Weltkulturgüter ausgezeichnet worden.

Das Land im Nordwesten Afrikas ist von seiner Staatsform her eine konstitutionelle Monarchie. Doch die politischen Befugnisse des dazugehörigen Parlamentes halten sich in engen Grenzen. Der junge König Mohammed VI. aus der Familie der Alawiden herrscht seit 1999 über das Land. Die Alawiden leiten ihren Machtanspruch unter anderem von ihrer Nachkommenschaft vom Propheten Mohammed ab. Rechts- bzw. Investitionssicherheit und gesellschaftliche Stabilität sind gegeben. Die Kriminalitätsrate ist vergleichsweise gering und insbesondere auf dem Land vernachlässigter.