Oasis & Desert Sand

In the form of a long river oasis the Drâa river breaks through the rugged Anti-Atlas and flows into an endless sea of stone and sand 150 km further south east. In between lies the Drâa Valley, regarded as one of the most picturesque valleys in Morocco and popularly known as “the valley of the thousand casbahs and countless date palms’. In order to reach the area you must first cross the Anti-Atlas. Shortly after the Tizi-n-Tinififft pass (1660m)you reach Agdz.

Outside Agdz the road is lined with donkeys bearing heavy loads. It is market day and the walled market place is an impressive spectacle. Essential goods are sold at numerous stands. Agdz is not geared to cater for tourists. Nonetheless, or perhaps for this very reason, there are interesting finds to be had. The small town, which evolved from a French garrison, lies at the foot of the imposing 1531-metre Djebel Kissane. Agdz is the point of departure for beautiful excursions into the Anti-Atlas and further into the Drâa Valley.

Another village is called Douar Laabid – Arabic for slave village – and is mainly inhabited by Haratins. The Haratins originate from present-day Sudan and were kidnapped and enslaved in past centuries. Naturally slavery no longer exists in Morocco today. The Haratin have succeeded in retaining their own language, culture and music. There are also Jewish settlements in the valley.

One of the final settlements in the direction of the desert is Tamegroute. The village is famous way beyond the region as a place of pilgrimage with numerous marabouts (shrines) and a library with manuscripts from throughout the Arabic world, some of which are extremely old. Religious students use the old books for their studies. The Hamada du Drâa semi-desert marks the end of the river oasis.

Oasenband & Wüstensand

Als lang gezogene Flussoase durchbricht der Fluss Drâa den zerklüfteten Anti-Atlas und mündet 150 km südöstlicher in ein endloses Meer aus Stein und Sand. Dazwischen liegt das Drâa-Tal. Es gilt als eine der malerischsten Gegenden Marokkos, als ‚Tal der tausend Kasbahs und der ungezählten Dattelpalmen’. Um die Gegend zu erreichen, muss man das Gebirge des Anti-Atlas überqueren. Kurz hinter dem Pass Tizi-n-Tinififft (1660m) gelangt man nach Agdz.

Vor Agdz säumen schwer bepackte Esel die Strasse. Es ist Markttag und der ummauerte Marktplatz bietet ein eindrückliches Bild. An zahllosen Ständen werden Dinge des täglichen Bedarfs feil geboten. Auf Touristen ist man nicht vorbereitet. Trotzdem oder gerade deshalb lassen sich interessante Trouvaillen finden. Das kleine, aus einer französischen Garnison entstandene Städchen liegt am Fuss des 1531m hohen, markanten Djebel Kissane. Agdz ist Ausgangspunkt für schöne Ausflüge in den Anti-Atlas und ins weitere Dra-Tal.

Ein anderes Dorf heisst Douar Laabid – arabisch für Sklavendorf. Es wird mehrheitlich von Haratins bewohnt. Sie stammen aus dem heutigen Sudan und wurden in früheren Jahrhunderten verschleppt und versklavt. Heute gibt es in Marokko selbstverständlich keine Sklaverei mehr. Die Haratin haben sich aber ihre eigene Sprache, Kultur und Musik erhalten. Auch jüdische Siedlungen existieren im Tal.

Eine der letzten Siedlungen Richtung Wüste ist Tamegroute. Das Dorf ist ein weit über die Region bekanntes Pilgerziel mit zahlreichen Marabouts (Heiligengräber) und einer Bibliothek mit zum Teil sehr alten Handschriften aus der ganzen arabischen Welt. Religionsstudenten nutzen die alten Bücher für ihre Studien. Die Halbwüste Hamada du Drâa, bildet den Endpunkt der Flussoase.